Over cliffs and fjords in five stages along the southern French coast

The Mediterranean coast near Marseille is more varied than you would think and uniquely spectacular: In the direct vicinity of bays, beaches and vineyards, among other things, the highest cliffs in France are located here. Anyone who climbs this has an excellent view of the entire coastline. The Parc National des Calanques begins just a few kilometers from the cliffs. The heart of this nature reserve is the Calanques massif, a rugged limestone mountain range with fjord-like bays (in French called Calanques) and small, upstream rocky islands. It is hard to believe that it is only a few kilometers from here to the city center of Marseille!

The coast near Marseille is therefore ideal as a hiking area! We tested this ourselves in autumn 2018 on a long-distance hike in five stages. We mostly followed the French GR51 long-distance hiking trail, but modified it somewhat and added two yellow-marked coastal hiking trails, Sentier Littoral and Sentier du Cap Canaille combined: In contrast to the GR51, the latter leads over the promising cliffs of Cap Canaille, which should not be left out!

With the help of modern translation technology, we have made this website available in other languages. We apologize for minor errors in the automatically generated translation!
The original language is German.

Online hiking guide with lots of tips

We love Mediterranean hiking holidays with lots of vertical meters, little luggage, a lot of views and nice accommodations! And as always, when we found what we were looking for interesting long-distance hiking routes, we have put together our route and our experiences on our own website. You can find an overview of our hiking recommendations here: www.wanderndeluxe.de/fernwanderwege/.

Have fun hiking!

Frank & Christiane

avatar for
Christiane Ehlers

Über Klippen und Fjorde in fünf Etappen entlang der südfranzösischen Küste

Die Mittelmeerküste bei Marseille ist abwechslungsreicher als man denken würde und dazu einzigartig spektakulär: In direkter Nachbarschaft zu Buchten, Stränden und Weinbergen sind hier unter anderem die höchsten Klippen Frankreichs beheimatet. Wer diese erklimmt, hat einen hervorragenden Blick auf die gesamte Küstenlinie. Wenige Kilometer von den Klippen entfernt beginnt bereits der Parc National des Calanques. Kern dieses Naturschutzgebiets ist das Calanques-Massiv, ein schroffes Kalksteingebirge mit fjordartigen Buchten (auf französisch Calanques genannt) und kleinen, vorgelagerten Felseninseln. Kaum zu glauben, dass es von hier aus nur wenige Kilometer bis in Stadtzentrum von Marseille sind!

Als Wandergegend ist die Küste bei Marseille deshalb hervorragend geeignet! Dies haben wir im Herbst 2018 auf einer Fernwanderung in fünf Etappen selbst erprobt. Wir sind dabei größtenteils dem französischen Fernwanderweg GR51 gefolgt, haben diesen aber etwas abgewandelt und mit den beiden gelb markierten Küstenwanderwegen Sentier Littoral bzw. Sentier du Cap Canaille kombiniert: Letzterer führt nämlich im Gegensatz zum GR51 über die aussichtsreichen Klippen des Cap Canaille, die man auf keinen Fall auslassen sollte!

Online-Wanderführer mit vielen Tipps

Wir lieben mediterrane Wanderurlaube mit vielen Höhenmetern, wenig Gepäck, viel Aussicht und schönen Unterkünften! Und wie immer, wenn wir auf unserer Suche nach interessanten Fernwander-Routen fündig geworden sind, haben wir auch diesmal unsere Route und unsere Erfahrungen auf einer eigenen Website zusammengestellt. Eine Übersicht über unsere Wanderempfehlungen findet ihr unter www.wanderndeluxe.de/fernwanderwege/.

Viele Spaß beim Wandern!

Frank & Christiane

Christiane Ehlers